Increasingly, elderly citizens have been charged with and convicted of larceny. Larceny, also referred to as shoplifting, is commonly a crime committed by juveniles. However, as elderly people continue to live longer and struggle with finances, many resort to shoplifting. There is no excuse for committing a crime. But, some elderly people do defend themselves. They could claim that because they have no income from a job, they have a hard time making ends meet, and feel forced to shoplift as a result.
In the state of Connecticut, larceny is not taken lightly. It is a crime that is punishable by jail time and fines. In addition to the criminal punishments, shoplifters can face civil punishments as well. Shop owners can sue shoplifters in civil court. In addition to the fines you pay, you might also have to pay restitution to the shop owner. Restitution can get expensive. Shoplifting is a form of larceny which can be considered a misdemeanor or a felony in Connecticut. Shoplifting is defined as taking goods from a commercial store with the intention of leaving the establishment without purchasing the item(s). Even if you have not yet left the store, if you are caught concealing goods in the store that you have not yet purchased, you can be charged with shoplifting since it can be presumed that you intended to steal the goods.
Types of Shoplifting
The penalties for shoplifting in Connecticut vary based on the classification of your charge. If you shoplift property that is $500 or less, you will be charged with sixth degree larceny. This is a Class C misdemeanor. The penalties for this charge are three or less months in jail, and a fine of as much as $500.
If you shoplift property that is worth more than $500 but less than $1,000, it is considered fifth degree larceny and it is a Class B misdemeanor. Penalties include a jail sentence of up to six months, and a fine of as much as $1,000.
Fourth degree larceny, considered a Class A misdemeanor, occurs if you steal property that is worth more than $1,000 but less than $2,000. The punishments for this crime are a jail sentence of up to one year and a fine of up to $2,000.
If you steal property that is worth more than $2,000 but less than $10,000, you will be charged with third degree larceny, which is a Class D felony. You could spend up to five years in prison and be fined as much as $5,000 for this crime.
Stealing property worth more than $10,000 but less than $20,000 is second degree larceny and also a Class C felony. You could spend up to ten years in prison for this crime, and be fined as much as $10,000.
Finally, if you shoplift property that is worth more than $20,000, you will be charged with first degree larceny, which is a Class B felony. You face as much as $15,000 in fines, and up to twenty years in prison.
Shoplifting is a serious crime in the state of Connecticut. If you are caught shoplifting, you will be punished accordingly. If you have already been charged with shoplifting, we can represent you in court and fight the charges. Especially as an elderly citizen, you should contact an attorney so that you can begin building a strong defense.