| | | | How is Child Pornography Defined in the state of Connecticut?
How is Child Pornography Defined in the state of Connecticut?2018-09-19T17:06:08+00:00

Child pornography is a very serious crime in the state of Connecticut. There are several different degrees of this crime, which will be covered on this page.

Child porn is generally defined as explicit images or videos of minors shared on electronic devices. Electric devices include phones, tablets, or over the internet. This crime does not have to consist of photos of images of children performing sexual acts. Rather, any photograph or video that contains a sexual pose or is meant to sexually arouse constitutes child porn.

Possessing/Transmitting Child Pornography by a Minor

If a minor is found in possession of child porn, they face Class A misdemeanor charges. In many cases, minors get “child pornography” because they receive explicit photographs of friends or significant others. Also known as “sexting”, this phenomenon has increased in recent years. The penalties for this crime include up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000.

Possessing Child Pornography in the 3rd Degree

An adult is guilty of possessing child pornography in the 3rd degree when that person knowingly is in possession of less than 20 images/videos containing pornography of children. This is a Class D felony and can result in a prison sentence of up to five years and a fine of as much as $5,000.

Possessing Child Pornography in the 2nd Degree

An adult is guilty of possessing child pornography in the 2nd degree when they knowingly have more than 20 but less than 50 depictions of pornography of children. This is a Class C felony and the punishments include a prison sentence of up to 10 years and a fine of up to $10,000.

Possessing Child Pornography in the 1st Degree

This is the most serious degree of child pornography possession. You can be charged with possessing child pornography in the 1st degree if you possess more than 50 depictions of child porn. As a Class B felony, the penalties for this crime include a prison sentence of as much as 20 years and a fine of up to $15,000.

Getting Help

If you have questions about any of the crimes mentioned here, please contact our office. You can talk to an attorney and have your questions answered. For more information, contact us at 203-925-9200.