One of the biggest thrills in a teenager’s life is the ability to drive. For the teenager, driving provides freedom and adventure, the ability to meet up with friends, and a practical way to get back and forth without being dependent upon their parents or the school bus. The teen driver’s license is a great opportunity for your child.
However, despite all of the good benefits that come with teenage driving, there can be bad results too. Teenage drivers are inexperienced. In addition, teenagers can be impulsive, and they may not be fully aware of the risks of aggressive driving. Some teens approach driving on the roads like it is the same as one of their video games. This can have disastrous – sadly even fatal – consequences. On this page, I will discuss teen driver’s license restrictions in the state of Connecticut, which are designed to keep young drivers safe. Learn more about potential penalties if your teenager breaks these restrictions here.
Suspensions and Restrictions
In response to the high number of teenage driver accidents, Connecticut has passed several laws restricting driving for 16 year-olds and 17 year-olds. Besides court penalties, the Connecticut DMV will suspend the teen’s driver’s license for any conviction for teen driver restrictions, speeding, reckless driving, street racing, or using a cell phone and/or text messaging while driving.
First Offense Suspensions:
- Use of Cell Phone and/or Texting: 30 day suspension.
- Speeding (more than 20 miles over): 60 day suspension.
- Reckless Driving: Six month suspension.
- Street Racing: Six month suspension.
If your child is a second offender, the suspension periods increase, as do the court penalties.
Teenage driver’s licenses also have several other restrictions:
- No driving of commercial, public service, or van pool vehicles until 18 years old.
- All passengers must use seatbelts until 18 years old.
- No use of cell phones (even hands-free) until 18 years old.
- Until they turn 18 years old, they have a curfew:
- No driving from 11 p.m. to 5 a.m.
- Limited exceptions for school, work, religious activities, and medical necessity.
- No passengers during their first six months of licensed driving, except:
- Parents and legal guardians.
- Professional driving instructors.
- Driving instructors who are over 20 years-old, with a valid license for at least four years, and who have not had their license suspended within the last four years.
- Immediate family members (siblings) can be passengers during their second six months.
- After one year of licensed driving, teenage drivers can transport any passenger, such as friends or distant relations.
I know that it can be very exciting for a teenager to get their license. However, don’t let your child get carried away and begin to break the rules. Make sure that your teenager knows the restrictions that they need to follow. Also make sure that they are aware of the consequences of breaking the teen driver’s license restrictions. If your child is facing a violation of a restriction, please contact me. I can review the situation to determine if your child will lose their license or not. For more information, call my office at 203-925-9200.