As a juvenile, when you get detained, there are going to be time limitations. This is good for you because you will not be locked up for an extended period of time. You should feel at ease knowing that there is a time limit set by the law that prevents you from being detained for a significant period of time. The police officer that arrests you must abide by the juvenile detention laws or he or she will be breaking a law.
Detention Time Limitations
In the United States, there are 22 states where children as young as 7 years old can be charged as adults. Just because you can be charged as an adult does not mean that you can be kept in detention for the same amount of time as an adult. In a delinquent case, your detention hearing must be held no longer than 48 hours after being placed in the detention center. This hearing is held to decide if detention is required for you.
In an unruly case, your hearing should be held no later than 24 hours after the time you have been detained. This time limit cannot be exceeded unless the court has reason to believe that you have violated a court order. If this has happened, you cannot be kept in detention for more than 48 hours after your original detainment. In either situation, whether it be a delinquent or an unruly case, you may not be held any longer than 84 hours if there is a non-judicial day during the time of your detention. This means if there is a holiday during the time you are being kept in custody and the courts are not open, this day will not count toward the 48 hours. It will all be pushed to the next day that the courts are open.
What Does it Mean to be a Juvenile?
Almost every state in the U.S. considers a juvenile to be a person under the age of 18. In New York, Connecticut, and North Carolina a juvenile is of age 16 or less. In Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Missouri, New Hampshire, South Carolina, Texas and Wisconsin a juvenile is of age 17 or less. The only state that considers a juvenile to be 19 or less is Wyoming. Some youths may be facing more serious crimes than others, so juvenile judges have the right to wave some cases to adult court. Your lawyer might give you instructions on how to dress and behave to help keep you in juvenile court because oftentimes the judge will be easier on a juvenile than an adult. Be sure to follow all instructions given to you because your lawyer has likely been doing this for a long time and they know what works and what doesn’t.
Juvenile detention times are going to be less than an adult detention time. It is important for you to know about the times that are set because then you will know your rights and if they are being violated. Talk to a lawyer about what you should do to keep yourself safe from anything that could happen during your time in detention.