Larceny charges in the state of Connecticut are similar to theft charges. A person is charged with larceny if they have stolen goods or property. There are six different degrees of larceny that you might be charged with. They range from a Class C misdemeanor (the least serious classification for a crime) to a class B Felony (one of the most serious charges a person could face). Below, I discuss larceny penalties in the state of Connecticut. If you have been charged with one of these degrees of larceny, this is information that you need.
If charged with larceny, you should understand the potential punishments that you might face. Because there are six degrees of larceny, each one has a different classification. Also, each has a different set of penalties attached to it. The amount of fines and jail time you could face depends on the classification of the crime. You can find this information represented in the chart below.
|Class B Felony||1 to 20 years||Up to $15,000|
|Class C Felony||1 to 10 years||Up to $10,000|
|Class D Felony||1 to 5 years||Up to $5,000|
|Class A Misdemeanor||Up to one year||Up to $2,000|
|Class B Misdemeanor||Up to six months||Up to $1,000|
|Class C Misdemeanor||Up to three months||Up to $500|
As you can see, the penalties and classifications of larceny can differ greatly. You might face just a few months in jail and a fine of a few hundred dollars. Or, you could face decades in prison and thousands of dollars in fines. It is important to understand which degree of larceny you are being charged with. For example, if you are charged with a Class B misdemeanor, but your situation actually falls under a Class C misdemeanor, you need to speak up. You do not want to be penalized too harshly based on your situation.
No matter what penalties you face, it is in your best interest to defend yourself against the charges and try to avoid any punishments. The best way to defend yourself in court is by hiring a criminal defense lawyer to oversee your case and build your defense. If you would like to discuss your situation with one of our lawyers, contact us at 203-925-9200.
Related Search Terms
- Larceny 2nd degree CT
- Larceny 1st degree sentencing CT
- Larceny 3rd degree CT jail time
- Larceny 6th degree CT statute
- Larceny 5th degree punishment
- Shoplifting laws in CT
- 53a-125b larceny 6th degree CT
- What is the average sentence for larceny?
- Grand larceny
- Larceny vs theft