Driving Under Suspension Penalties in Connecticut2018-09-20T17:42:02+00:00

Sometimes, when people have their license revoked or suspended, they do not take these punishments seriously. They might feel that submitting to this punishment is too much of an inconvenience in their lives. Also, they might think that no one will catch them driving under suspension anyway. However, driving under suspension constitutes a serious offense that also counts as a criminal offense in the state of Connecticut. If you have a suspended license and someone catches you driving during your suspension, you will face serious consequences. Avoiding this issue is in your best interest if your license has been suspended.

Driving Under Suspension Penalties

If caught driving under suspension, you face serious penalties. If you are caught doing this the first tie, you face a fine of $150-200, up to 90 days in jail, and revocation of license for one year. The penalties get more serious the more that you get caught. For example, a second offense carries the penalty of a fine of $200-600, revocation of your driver’s license for five years, and a jail sentence of up to one year.

The penalties for driving with a suspended license vary based on what your license was suspended for. Driving with a suspended license due to a DUI, manslaughter with a motor vehicle, or assault with a motor vehicle will result in a $500-1,000 fine. In addition, you face the revocation of your driver’s license for one year, and a jail sentence of up to five years, 30 days of which you must serve.

Getting Help

It is best to comply with a short driving suspension to avoid it becoming a larger one. However, if you are caught driving with a suspended license, it is now time to try to defend yourself. It can be difficult to prove your innocence in this situation, but it could be possible. For example, do you have a work or education permit that allows you to drive? Can you prove that you were driving within the regulations of a permit like this? We can review your case to help determine the best way to approach your defense. For more information, contact our office at 203-925-9200.