Driving without a License Laws in Connecticut2018-09-19T17:14:43+00:00

While you might initially think that driving without a license is not a big deal, it can have serious consequences. If caught, you face fines, jail sentences, and even the suspension of your license. You can learn more about the penalties for driving without a license on this page.

Driving Without a License

The following chart explains the consequences for driving without a license in the state of Connecticut:

  • Up to 90 days in prison.
  • $150 to $200 fine.
  • License suspended at least one year.
  • Up to one year in prison.
  • $200 to $600 fine.
  • License suspended at least two years.
  • If previously violated these provisions or operated without obtaining a license: additional fine of up to $500 or up to 100 community service hours.
  • If two previous violations of those provisions: additional mandatory 90 days in prison.

This information can also be found in the chart below, along with the Connecticut Statute for driving without a license penalties.

Penalties for Operating Vehicles Without a License or With Suspended or Revoked License or Right to Operate
Statute1st OffenseSubsequent Offenses
Operating vehicle after being refused a license or with suspended or revoked license or right to operate

(CGS §§ 14-215(a), (b), and 14-111(b), PA 05-215, §§ 2, 4)

● Up to 90 days in prison

● $150 to $200 fine

● License suspended at least one year

● Up to one year in prison

● $200 to $600 fine

● License suspended at least two years

● If previously violated these provisions or operated without obtaining a license: additional fine of up to $500 or up to 100 community service hours

● If two previous violations of those provisions: additional mandatory 90 days in prison

Note: This table is courtesy of Penalties for Driving Without a License or Suspended or Revoked License. For more information on this subject, you can check out the statutes on that page.

Getting Help

If you have been accused of driving without a license, you should take action to save your license. There are potential defenses to driving without a license, such as using a work permit. To fully understand your situation, please contact us. If you have additional questions regarding the crime of driving without a license, we are happy to assist you. Please contact our office today at 203-925-9200 for more information.