Reckless driving is a common motor vehicle infraction in the state of Connecticut. On this page, I discuss the definition of reckless driving under Connecticut statute, as well as the potential penalties for this issue. If you need help with a reckless driving charge, an attorney can help.
Reckless Driving Law
Reckless driving is defined by the state of Connecticut as:
Sec. 14-222. Reckless driving. (a) No person shall operate any motor vehicle upon any public highway of the state, or any road of any specially chartered municipal association or of any district organized under the provisions of chapter 105, a purpose of which is the construction and maintenance of roads and sidewalks, or in any parking area for ten cars or more or upon any private road on which a speed limit has been established in accordance with the provisions of section 14-218a or upon any school property recklessly, having regard to the width, traffic and use of such highway, road, school property or parking area, the intersection of streets and the weather conditions.
The operation of a motor vehicle upon any such highway, road or parking area for ten cars or more at such a rate of speed as to endanger the life of any person other than the operator of such motor vehicle, or the operation, downgrade, upon any highway, of any motor vehicle with a commercial registration with the clutch or gears disengaged, or the operation knowingly of a motor vehicle with defective mechanism, shall constitute a violation of the provisions of this section. The operation of a motor vehicle upon any such highway, road or parking area for ten cars or more at a rate of speed greater than eighty-five miles per hour shall constitute a violation of the provisions of this section.
Reckless driving is different from many other motor vehicle violations because it is oftentimes considered a misdemeanor and not just an infraction. This means that any person found guilty of reckless driving will be fined $100-300 (fines are common penalties for infractions) but in addition, they also face a jail sentence of up to 30 days. These are the penalties for the first offense. Also, for subsequent offenses, the penalties increase. They include a fine of up to $600 and/or a jail sentence of up to one year.
In addition to criminal penalties, you face a punishment imposed by the DMV. The DMV will suspend your license for a minimum of 30 days for a first offense, and a minimum of 60 days for a second offense.
Oftentimes, a reckless driving charge is more serious than a simple driving infraction. As such, you should consider contacting a lawyer to assist with the situation that you find yourself in. A lawyer can argue to have the charge reduced to speeding or help in other ways. For more information, contact our office.