Your driver’s license can be suspended in the state of Connecticut if you get 10 points assessed against your license within 24 months. Here, you can learn more about the suspension and how to get your license back.
Getting a Driver’s License Suspension
Your driver’s license will be suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles for 30 days if you have 10 or more points assessed against your license within 24 months. After this suspension if you get a total of 10 points within the following five years you will automatically receive a second suspension of your license.
If you are a driver between the ages of 16-17 years of age and you receive a conviction for a driving offense, you will be required to complete an Operator Retraining Program before your license will be reinstated. If you are between 18-24 years of age and you receive a second motor vehicle violation within a three-year period, you are subject to a suspension of your license regardless of the number of total points accrued.
Once your license is due to be restored from a suspension you must following the restoration procedures.
All requests for restoration with the DMV must be handled online, or by mail. In order to get your license reinstated after the designated time of the suspension is complete, you must pay a $175 restoration fee. This fee can be paid by mail, online, or for instate drivers by phone and may NOT be done in person.
After you successfully make payment, you must wait until you get a letter from the DMV indicating your license has been reinstated before you may drive again. You may also check the status of your license online at the DMV website assuming it is a Connecticut issued driver’s license. If it is an out of state license, you must wait to get a notification for the state that issued your license.
The DMV typically takes up to 10 business days (two weeks) from the time they receive your payment to reinstate your license. For this reason, it is best if you send materials in and apply for restoration about two weeks before your suspension ends to minimize the time between the suspension’s end and restoration of your driving privileges.
Mandatory 48-Hour Suspensions
The process is different in the case of a mandatory 48-hour suspensions. As a result of certain violations for 16 and 17-year-old drivers, the police might confiscate your driver’s license for a mandatory 48-hour suspension. In order to get the license back, the teen’s legal parent or guardian must go to the police station after the 48 hours and sign a written statement acknowledging the license has been returned. Until further possible penalties from court or because of accrued points, the license is restored with no additional restoration fee.
Having your license suspended or even just getting a lot of points that can lead to a suspension the “next time” can be frightful. A criminal and traffic defense lawyer can help navigate the process and help either get charges lowered or even dismissed to avoid points and convictions on your record. Contact us for a consultation and let us take the worry out of this process for you.