Manslaughter in the First Degree 53a-55

A person is guilty of this crime in the State of Connecticut in three instances. The first way a person may be guilty of the crime of this offense is when:

  • They intend to cause serious harm to another person.
  • They cause the death of that person.

The second way a person may be found guilty of the this crime in the State of Connecticut is:

  • They intend to cause the death of another person.
  • They cause the death of that person.
  • The act was performed when the defendant was under the influence of extreme emotional disturbance.

The third way a person may be guilty of the crime of the crime in the State of Connecticut is:

  • A person recklessly engages in conduct.
  • The conduct creates a grave risk of death to another person.
  • The defendant shows extreme indifference to human life.
  • The defendant causes the death of another person.

The possible punishments for this crime in the State of Connecticut are:

  • 1 to 20 years in prison.

Manslaughter in the First Degree with a Fire Arm 53a-55a

There is a separate type of manslaughter in the first degree when it involved the use of a firearm. This results in a mandatory type of sentence with a higher possible sentence. The elements required to be proved by the State in this type of case are:

  • When a person commits a manslaughter in the first degree under section 53a-55 and
  • In the commission of the offense he:
    • Uses, or is armed with and threatens the use of, or displays, or represents by his words or conduct that he possesses a pistol, revolver, shotgun, machine gun, rifle or other firearm.

A conviction of this crime carries a sentence of:

  • 5 yrs mandatory.
  • up to 40 years in prison.

Manslaughter in the Second Degree 53a-56

To be guilty of the crime of this crime in the State of Connecticut the prosecution has to prove that:

  • A person acted recklessly in causing the death of another person.
  • He intentionally causes or aids another person, other than by force, coercion, or deception too commit suicide.

If a person is convicted of this crime, a person could be sentenced to prison for:

  • 1 year to 10 years.

Manslaughter in the Second Degree with a Firearm 53a-56a

Just as with manslaughter in the first degree, there is a separate charge for manslaughter involving a firearm for manslaughter in the second degree. To prove manslaughter in the second degree with a firearm, the state has to prove:

  • When a person commits manslaughter in the first degree under section 53a-55 and
  • In the commission of the offense he:
    • Uses, or is armed with and threatens the use of, or displays, or represents by his words or conduct that he possesses a pistol, revolver, shotgun, machine gun, rifle or other firearm.

The possible penalties for this crime are:

  • 1 year that cannot be suspended in prison.
  • Up to 10 years in prison.