There are three types of assault – assault in the first degree, assault in the second degree, and assault in the third degree. Learn about them here.
Assault in the First Degree (53a-59)(Class B)
Assault in the first degree is the most serious of the assault charges that you may face in the state of Connecticut. This crime is considered a Class B felony. This means that if convicted of the crime, you face serious penalties. Also, you can face a prison sentence of 1-20 years, and a fine of as much as $15,000. So, to avoid these punishments, you need the assistance of an experienced assault defense lawyer.
There are approximately five ways that you can be found guilty of assault in the first degree in Connecticut. They include:
- When a person intends to cause serious physical injury to a person and does cause serious physical injury to that person or a third person with a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument.
- When a person intends to seriously and permanently disfigure a person or disable a person and does cause such an injury to that person or a third party.
- When a person with an intent to cause serious physical injury does so to someone or a third party with at least two other people involved.
- When a person intends to cause physical injury to another by use of a firearm and does cause physical injury to such a person or a third party.
- When a person engages in conduct, which creates a risk of death to another person, and thereby causes serious physical injury to another person.
Assault One with a Deadly Weapon
If you commit assault one with a deadly weapon, you will face an assault one with a deadly weapon charge. An example of this includes assault with a firearm or other weapon. If convicted of this crime, you face a 5-20 year prison sentence with a mandatory sentence of five years. This means that at least five years of your sentence cannot be suspended or reduced. This is true if you are found guilty of assault one with a deadly weapon.
No matter what type of assault you get charged with, you face more severe consequences for injuring certain people. This includes injuring a minor or a witness to a crime. You face a mandatory 10 year prison sentence if you assault a child who is under the age of 10. The same is true if you knowingly assault a witness to a crime.
If you face an assault one or assault one with a deadly weapon charge, it is a good idea to contact a criminal defense lawyer. Our office can review your situation and help you determine the best way to proceed. Contact our office today to set up a free consultation. We are happy to review your situation and answer your questions.