Sometimes Connecticut residents travel to other states, like Hawaii, for business or pleasure and have the unfortunate luck to be charged with a DUI. If this happens to you, you should first find a qualified DUI lawyer in Hawaii, but you should also be aware of how Connecticut’s DMV will treat you upon your return.
Hawaii DUI Penalties
If you have been convicted of a DUI in Hawaii, you would be convicted of violating section 291E-61(a)(1) of the Hawaii statute.
In Hawaii, the penalties for DUI can range depending on the number of prior DUI offenses you have.
First offense: The penalties for this offense include 1-4 hours of an alcohol rehabilitation program, a 90-day suspension of your license, assessment and treatment if deemed necessary, and one of the following: 72 hours of community service, or a jail sentence of 48 hours to five days, or a fine of $150-$1,000
Second offense: This conviction will result in a year-long license suspension, a fine of $500-$1,500, assessment and treatment if deemed necessary, and one of the following: 240 hours of community service or a jail sentence of 5-14 days.
Third offense: This offense is punishable by a $500-$2,500 fine, a license revocation for 1-5 years, a jail sentence of 10-30 days, forfeiture of vehicle, and assessment and treatment if deemed necessary.
If you are a Connecticut resident who has been charged with or convicted of DUI in Hawaii, you should be aware that there are repercussions on your Connecticut license in your home state in addition to any license impact in Hawaii as set forth above.
After hiring a Hawaii DUI lawyer to help you fight your DUI, you should consider contacting a Connecticut DUI lawyer like our firm with experience in interstate DMV consequences or asking us to assist you in retaining one for your home state consequences.