Sometimes Connecticut residents travel to other states, like Kansas, for business or pleasure and have the unfortunate luck to be charged with a DUI. If this happens to you, you should first find a qualified DUI lawyer in Kansas, but you should also be aware of how Connecticut’s DMV will treat you upon your return.
If you have been convicted of a DUI in Kansas, you would be convicted of violating K.S.A. 8-1013.
Kansas DUI Penalties
In Kansas, the penalties for DUI can range depending on the number of prior DUI offenses you have.
First offense: A first offense in the state of Kansas will result in a jail sentence of 48 hours – six months or 100 hours of community service, a fine between $500 and $1,000, alcohol evaluation, alcohol classes (which will cost $150), a suspension of your driver’s license for 30 days and a restricted license for 330 days.
Second offense: The penalties for a second offense are a jail sentence from 90 days (which can be paroled to 5 days) up to one year, a fine of $1,000-$1,500, alcohol evaluation and treatment (which will cost $150), and the suspension of your driver’s license for one year. In order to have your license reinstated, you must have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle for one year.
Third offense: The punishments for this conviction include a jail sentence of no less than 90 days and no more than one year, a fine of $1,500-$2,500, alcohol treatment, and a two year license suspension, which will only be lifted if an ignition interlock device is installed on your vehicle for one year.
Fourth/subsequent offense: This conviction will result in a jail sentence of no less than 90 days and no more than one year, post-release supervision for one year by a Kansas Secretary of Corrections, a fine of $2,500, the cost of alcohol treatment, and a suspension of your license for one year, followed by participation in the ignition interlock device program for one year.
*Note – for a fifth offense or a subsequent offense, your license will be revoked permanently.
If you are a Connecticut resident who has been charged with or convicted of DUI in Kansas, you should be aware that there are repercussions on your Connecticut license in your home state in addition to any license impact in Kansas as set forth above.
After hiring a Kansas DUI lawyer to help you fight your DUI, you should consider contacting a Connecticut DUI lawyer like our firm with experience in interstate DMV consequences or asking us to assist you in retaining one for your home state consequences.