Sometimes Connecticut residents travel to other states, like Louisiana, for business or pleasure and have the unfortunate luck to be charged with a DUI. If this happens to you, you should first find a qualified DUI lawyer in Louisiana, but you should also be aware of how Connecticut’s DMV will treat you upon your return.
Louisiana DUI Penalties
If you have been convicted of a DUI in Louisiana, you would be convicted of violating section 14:98(A)(1)(a) of the Louisiana statutes.
In Louisiana, the penalties for DUI can range depending on the number of prior DUI offenses you have.
First offense: This conviction carries a jail sentence of 10 days to six months and a fine of $300-$1,000. In some cases, you can serve less time in jail and be placed on probation as an alternative punishment.
Second offense: This conviction will result in a fine of $750-$1,000 and a jail sentence of thirty days to six months. At least 48 hours of this sentence must be served. If you agree to participate in a substance abuse program, your jail sentence can be reduced to 15 days with probation.
Third offense: For a third conviction, you will have to serve a jail sentence of one to five years and pay a fine of $2,000. In addition, you will have to undergo 4-6 weeks of substance abuse treatment.
Fourth/subsequent offense: This conviction will result in a jail sentence of 10-30 years, a fine of $5,000, and substance abuse treatment for 4-6 weeks.
If you are a Connecticut resident who has been charged with or convicted of DUI in Louisiana, you should be aware that there are repercussions on your Connecticut license in your home state in addition to any license impact in Louisiana as set forth above.
After hiring a Louisiana DUI lawyer to help you fight your DUI, you should consider contacting a Connecticut DUI lawyer like our firm with experience in interstate DMV consequences or asking us to assist you in retaining one for your home state consequences.