Sometimes Connecticut residents travel to other states, like Maryland, for business or pleasure and have the unfortunate luck to be charged with a DUI. If this happens to you, you should first find a qualified DUI lawyer in Maryland, but you should also be aware of how Connecticut’s DMV will treat you upon your return.
Maryland DUI Penalties
If you have been convicted of a DUI in Maryland, you would be convicted of violating section 2-501 of the Maryland statutes.
In Maryland, the penalties for DUI can range depending on the number of prior DUI offenses you have.
DUI offense: If you are convicted of a DUI, your license can be suspended for up to one year. If you commit homicide while under the influence of alcohol, you will be guilty of a felony. The penalties for this crime are imprisonment for no more than five years or a fine of no more than $5,000. In some cases, you might receive jail time and a fine.
DWI offense: If you are convicted of a DWI, your license can be suspended for up to one year. Committing homicide while impaired by alcohol will result in imprisonment for no more than three years, a fine of no more than $5,000, or both.
If you are a Connecticut resident who has been charged with or convicted of DUI in Maryland, you should be aware that there are repercussions on your Connecticut license in your home state in addition to any license impact in Maryland as set forth above.
If you have a Maryland DUI but are a Connecticut resident, you can get help from a Connecticut attorney. Attorney Ruane also recommends Attorneys Seth Price, Kush Arora, and Jason Kalafat, for your Maryland DUI case.