Sometimes Connecticut residents travel to other states, like Massachusetts, for business or pleasure and have the unfortunate luck to be charged with a DUI. If this happens to you, you should first find a qualified DUI lawyer in Massachusetts, but you should also be aware of how Connecticut’s DMV will treat you upon your return.
Massachusetts DUI Penalties
If you have been convicted of a DUI in Massachusetts, you would be convicted of violating G.L. ch. 90, § 24(1)(a)(1) of the Massachusetts statutes.
In Massachusetts, the penalties for DUI can range depending on the number of prior DUI offenses you have.
First offense: A first offense conviction will result in a fine of $500-$5,000, a jail sentence of no more than two years to be served at the House of Corrections, and a license suspension for one year. The license reinstatement fee will be $500. Alternative penalties include probation, and a license suspension for 45-90 days.
Second offense: This offense will result in a fine of $600-$10,000, a license suspension for two years, and an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle after license reinstatement. License reinstatement will cost $700, and you face a mandatory 60-day jail sentence, that can last for up to two years. Alternative penalties include two years of probation and a 14-day treatment program paid at your own expense.
Third offense: This offense is considered a felony and carries a minimum jail sentence of 180 days but will not exceed five years in a state prison. A fine of $1,000-$15,000 must also be paid, and your license will be suspended for eight years. Once your license is reinstated, for a cost of $1,200, you must install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.
Fourth offense: A fourth offense is also considered a felony. This conviction carries a minimum of two years served in jail, although this sentence will not exceed five years. You must also pay a fine of $1,500-$25,000, and your license will be suspended for ten years. After your license is reinstated, you must install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.
Fifth offense: Also considered a felony, a fifth offense will result in a two year minimum jail sentence, and this jail sentence could last for up to five years. You will also have to pay a $2,000-$50,000 fine, and your license will be suspended for the rest of your life.
If you are a Connecticut resident who has been charged with or convicted of DUI in Massachusetts, you should be aware that there are repercussions on your Connecticut license in your home state in addition to any license impact in Massachusetts as set forth above.