Sometimes Connecticut residents travel to other states, like Minnesota, for business or pleasure and have the unfortunate luck to be charged with a DUI. If this happens to you, you should first find a qualified DUI lawyer in Minnesota, but you should also be aware of how Connecticut’s DMV will treat you upon your return.
Minnesota DUI Penalties
If you have been convicted of a DUI in Minnesota, you would be convicted of violating 169A.03 of the Minnesota statutes.
In Minnesota, the penalties for DUI can range depending on the number of prior DUI offenses you have.
First offense: The maximum penalties for a first offense in the state of Minnesota are a 90-day jail sentence and a fine of $1,000.
Third degree aggravated offense: This conviction carries a fine of up to $3,000 and a jail sentence as long as one year. Aggravating factors include a BAC of .20 or higher, a second/subsequent offense, and driving of a child under the age of 16.
Second degree aggravated offense: The penalties for this offense are the same as for a third degree aggravated offense.
First degree aggravated offense: This is considered a felony and will result in a prison sentence of up to seven years as well as a fine of $14,000.
If you are a Connecticut resident who has been charged with or convicted of DUI in Minnesota, you should be aware that there are repercussions on your Connecticut license in your home state in addition to any license impact in Minnesota as set forth above.
After hiring a Minnesota DUI lawyer to help you fight your DUI, you should consider contacting a Connecticut DUI lawyer like our firm with experience in interstate DMV consequences or asking us to assist you in retaining one for your home state consequences.