Sometimes Connecticut residents travel to other states, like Nebraska, for business or pleasure and have the unfortunate luck to be charged with a DUI. If this happens to you, you should first find a qualified DUI lawyer in Nebraska, but you should also be aware of how Connecticut’s DMV will treat you upon your return.
Nebraska DUI Penalties
If you have been convicted of a DUI in Nebraska, you would be convicted of violating section 60-6,196 of the Nebraska statutes.
In Nebraska, the penalties for DUI can range depending on the number of prior DUI offenses you have.
First offense: The penalties for this conviction include a jail sentence of 7-60 days, a $500 fine, and a license suspension for six months. In order to have your license reinstated, you must participate in the ignition interlock device program.
Second offense: This conviction will result in a jail sentence of 30-90 days, a fine of $500, and license suspension for one year. You must apply for an ignition interlock device after 45 days.
Third offense: A third DUI conviction carries the penalties of 90 days – one year in jail, a fine of $1,000, and a license revocation for 15 years.
Fourth offense: This is considered a felony and will result in 180 days – five years in jail, a fine of up to $10,000, and a license revocation for 15 years.
Fifth/subsequent offense: Also considered a felony, the penalties for a fifth or subsequent offense are 2-20 years in jail, a fine of up to $25,000, and a license revocation for 15 years.
If you are a Connecticut resident who has been charged with or convicted of DUI in Nebraska, you should be aware that there are repercussions on your Connecticut license in your home state in addition to any license impact in Nebraska as set forth above.
After hiring a Nebraska DUI lawyer to help you fight your DUI, you should consider contacting a Connecticut DUI lawyer like our firm with experience in interstate DMV consequences or asking us to assist you in retaining one for your home state consequences.