Sometimes Connecticut residents travel to other states, like New Jersey, for business or pleasure and have the unfortunate luck to be charged with a DUI. If this happens to you, you should first find a qualified DUI lawyer in New Jersey, but you should also be aware of how Connecticut’s DMV will treat you upon your return.
New Jersey DUI Penalties
If you have been convicted of a DUI in New Jersey, you would be convicted of violating New Jersey Statute 39:4-50.
In New Jersey, the penalties for DUI can range depending on the number of prior DUI offenses you have.
Drunk driving is not considered a crime in the state of New Jersey. However, drunk driving and breath test refusal can lead to consequences, including jail for six months, insurance premium increases, court assessments costing up to $2,378, administrative assessments up to $5,575. Intoxicated Drive Resource Center (IDRC) attendance for up to 48 hours as well as further treatment as the IDRC deeps necessary, license and registration suspension for up to 20 years, and ignition interlock device installment in your vehicle(s).
If you are a Connecticut resident who has been charged with or convicted of DUI in New Jersey, you should be aware that there are repercussions on your Connecticut license in your home state in addition to any license impact in New Jersey as set forth above.
After hiring a New Jersey DUI lawyer to help you fight your DUI, you should consider contacting a Connecticut DUI lawyer like our firm with experience in interstate DMV consequences or asking us to assist you in retaining one for your home state consequences.