Sometimes Connecticut residents travel to other states, like North Dakota for business or pleasure and have the unfortunate luck to be charged with a DUI. If this happens to you, you should first find a qualified DUI lawyer in North Dakota, but you should also be aware of how Connecticut’s DMV will treat you upon your return.
North Dakota DUI Penalties
If you have been convicted of a DUI in North Dakota, you would be convicted of violating the North Dakota General Statute 20-138.1.
In North Dakota, the penalties for DUI can range depending on the number of prior DUI offenses you have.
First offense: The penalties for a first offense in the state of North Dakota are a fine of at least $250 and an addiction evaluation by an addiction treatment program.
Second offense: A second DUI will result in imprisonment for five days or thirty days of community service, as well as a fine of $500 or more, and an addiction evaluation by an addiction treatment program.
Third offense: A third conviction carries a prison sentence of at least 60 days, a $1,000 fine, and an addiction evaluation by an addiction treatment program.
Fourth/subsequent offense: This conviction will result in a prison sentence of 180 days, a fine of $1,000, and an addiction evaluation by an addiction treatment program.
If you are a Connecticut resident who has been charged with or convicted of DUI in North Dakota, you should be aware that there are repercussions on your Connecticut license in your home state in addition to any license impact in North Dakota as set forth above.
After hiring a North Dakota DUI lawyer to help you fight your DUI, you should consider contacting a Connecticut DUI lawyer like our firm with experience in interstate DMV consequences or asking us to assist you in retaining one for your home state consequences.