Sometimes Connecticut residents travel to other states, like Wyoming, for business or pleasure and have the unfortunate luck to be charged with a DUI. If this happens to you, you should first find a qualified DUI lawyer in Wyoming, but you should also be aware of how Connecticut’s DMV will treat you upon your return.
Wyoming DUI Penalties
If you have been convicted of a DUI in Wyoming, you would be convicted of violating §§ 31-5-233(b)(i)&(31-5-233(b)(ii) of the Wyoming statutes.
In Wyoming, the penalties for DUI can range depending on the number of prior DUI offenses you have.
The penalties for a first offense in the state of Wyoming include a jail sentence of up to six months and/or a fine of up to $750, and a license suspension for 90 days (your license will only be reinstated if an ignition interlock device is installed in your vehicle).
A second conviction will result in a jail sentence of seven days to six months, a fine of $200-$700 and a year license suspension (your license will only be reinstated if you participate in the ignition interlock device program for one year).
This offense will result in a jail sentence of 30 days to six months, a fine of $750-$3,000, and a license suspension for one year, which will only be reinstated if you are driving a vehicle with an ignition interlock device installed in it for two years.
This is considered a felony and the penalties include a jail term of up to seven years, a fine of up to $10,000, and the permanent revocation of your license.
Your Connecticut License
If you are a Connecticut resident who has been charged with or convicted of DUI in Wyoming, you should be aware that there are repercussions on your Connecticut license in your home state in addition to any license impact in Wyoming as set forth above.
After hiring a Wyoming DUI lawyer to help you fight your DUI, you should consider contacting a Connecticut DUI lawyer like our firm with experience in interstate DMV consequences or asking us to assist you in retaining one for your home state consequences.
The Connecticut law on DUI requires the Connecticut DMV to suspend a driver’s license for one year with a first offense conviction, and it will be more if this is not your first offense.