Two significant problems on the road in today’s society include DUIs and hit and run accidents. Combined, DUI and hit and runs make up nearly half of all traffic fatalities in Connecticut. 92 of Connecticut’s 220 traffic fatalities in 2011 happened because of drunk drivers. Also, ten deaths happened because of hit and run drivers. Even more hit and run accidents caused injuries on the road. Because of the prevalence of drunk driving and hit and run accidents, Connecticut has put serious penalties in place. These exist in order to punish these crimes.
In the state of Connecticut, DUI penalties can be severe. If convicted of a first offense DUI, you risk a prison sentence of two days to six months. Also, you face a fine of $500-$1,000. In addition, there is up to six months of probation, 100 hours of community service. Finally, you face a 45-day license suspension followed by one year of participation in the ignition interlock device program.
Second offenders face a jail term of between 120 days and two years. Also, they face a $1,000-$4,000 fine, probation, 100 hours of community service, and a 45-day license suspension. In order to get your license back, you must participate in the ignition interlock device program for three years.
A third or subsequent offense carries even greater consequences. You will receive a jail sentence of 1-3 years. Then, you face probation and 100 hours of community service. In addition, you face a fine of $2,000-$8,000, and a revocation of your license. You will not be eligible for reinstatement for at least two years. If your license is reinstated, you must use an ignition interlock device on your car for the rest of your life. The only way you can legally stop using an ignition interlock device when you drive is if you make a plea to the Commissioner. The Commissioner can lift the requirement after 15 years.
Hit and Run Penalties
Connecticut’s hit and run penalties should also be taken seriously. Every driver on the road has an obligation to stop their vehicle if they cause an accident that results in an injury. If you cause an accident, you must give the other driver your information. This includes your name, address, license and registration information, etc. Also, you must help the injured party receive medical attention if necessary by bringing them to a hospital or doctor, or by calling an ambulance. Neglecting to do this is considered evading responsibility, which is against the law.
If you are unable to stop for some reason, you still have a responsibility to report the accident to the police in the event of death or injury. If you don’t know if the other party was injured, but suspect that they might be, you should report the accident just to be safe. Also, if you do not report this information, you face a 1-10 year prison sentence and/or a fine of up to $10,000. The punishments for a hit and run accident are less severe if the injuries sustained by the accident are less serious; however, you will still be subject to penalties imposed by Connecticut.
Driving under the influence and hit and run accidents are serious because they can endanger the lives of others on the road. In an effort to reduce these accidents, Connecticut has imposed severe consequences for committing these crimes. For more information, you should consider contacting an attorney to help you through the process.