Sometimes Connecticut residents travel to other states, like Alabama, for business or pleasure and have the unfortunate luck to be charged with a DUI. If this happens to you, you should first find a qualified DUI lawyer in Alabama, but you should also be aware of how Connecticut’s DMV will treat you upon your return.
Alabama DUI Penalties
If you have been convicted of a DUI in Alabama, you would be convicted of violating Section 32-5A-191 of the Alabama statutes.
In Alabama, the penalties for DUI can range depending on the number of prior DUI offenses you have.
First offense: This conviction will result in imprisonment of no more than one year, a fine between $600-$2,100, suspension of your license for 90 days, and a court referral evaluation.
Second offense: This conviction carries a jail sentence that is to last between five days and one year or 30 days of community service, a fine between $1,100 and $5,100, license revocation for one year, and court referral evaluation.
Third offense: A third offense will result in a jail sentence of at least 60 days, but no more than one year, a fine between $2,100 and $10,000, a three year license suspension, and a court referral evaluation.
Getting a Lawyer
If you are a Connecticut resident who has been charged with or convicted of DUI in Alabama, you should be aware that there are repercussions on your Connecticut license in your home state in addition to any license impact in Alabama as set forth above.
After hiring an Alabama DUI lawyer to help you fight your DUI, you should consider contacting a Connecticut DUI lawyer, like our firm, with experience in interstate DMV consequences or ask us to assist you in retaining one for your home state consequences.