Sometimes Connecticut residents travel to other states, like Arizona, for business or pleasure and have the unfortunate luck to be charged with a DUI. If this happens to you, you should first find a qualified DUI lawyer in Arizona, but you should also be aware of how Connecticut’s DMV will treat you upon your return.
Arizona DUI Penalties
If you have been convicted of a DUI in Arizona, you would be convicted of violating Title 28-1381 of Arizona statutes.
In Arizona, the penalties for DUI can range depending on the number of prior DUI offenses you have.
First offense: The penalties for this offense include a jail sentence of one day to six months, drug and alcohol counseling, a fine of at least $250, five years (at most) of probation, and a 90 day license suspension (work permit allowed after 30 days).
Second offense: A second offense will result in 30 day to six months in jail, drug and alcohol counseling, a fine of at least $500, a maximum five years of probation, and a license revocation for one year.
If you are a Connecticut resident who has been charged with or convicted of DUI in Arizona, you should be aware that there are repercussions on your Connecticut license in your home state in addition to any license impact in Arizona as set forth above.
After hiring an Arizona DUI lawyer to help you fight your DUI, you should consider contacting a Connecticut DUI lawyer like our firm with experience in interstate DMV consequences or asking us to assist you in retaining one for your home state consequences.
The Connecticut law on DUI requires the Connecticut DMV to suspend a driver’s license for one year with a first offense conviction, and it will be more if this is not your first offense.