Sometimes Connecticut residents travel to other states, like Arkansas, for business or pleasure and have the unfortunate luck to be charged with a DUI. If this happens to you, you should first find a qualified DUI lawyer in Arkansas, but you should also be aware of how Connecticut’s DMV will treat you upon your return.
Arkansas DUI Penalties
If you have been convicted of a DUI in Arkansas, you would be convicted of violating A.C.A. § 5-65-303 of Arkansas statutes.
In Arkansas, the penalties for DUI can range depending on the number of prior DUI offenses you have.
First offense: A first offense DUI in the state of Arkansas will result in a jail sentence of one day to one year (although public service can substitute for jail time), a fine of $150-$1,000 (as well as $300 in court costs), a license suspension for six months (an ignition interlock restricted license will be available as well as a restricted permit).
Second offense: A second conviction carries a seven day to one year jail sentence (again, public service can substitute for jail time), a fine of $400-$3,000, and a license suspension for 24 months. After the first 45 days of suspension, an ignition interlock restricted license and a work permit will be available.
Third offense: A third offense will result in a jail sentence of 90 days to one year (again, public service can substitute for jail time), a fine between $900 and $5,000, a 30 month license suspension with an ignition interlock restricted license and a work permit available after the first 45 days.
Fourth offense: This is considered a felony and will result in a prison term of 1-6 years (although public service can substitute for this jail time), a fine of $900-$5,000, license revocation for four years with no restricted permits and potential forfeiture of your vehicle.
Fifth/subsequent offense: This is also considered a felony, and this conviction carries with it a prison term of 2-10 years, which can be substituted by public service, a fine of $900-$5,000, license revocation for four years with no restricted permits and potential forfeiture of your vehicle.
If you are a Connecticut resident who has been charged with or convicted of DUI in Arkansas, you should be aware that there are repercussions on your Connecticut license in your home state in addition to any license impact in Arkansas as set forth above.
After hiring an Arkansas DUI lawyer to help you fight your DUI, you should consider contacting a Connecticut DUI lawyer like our firm with experience in interstate DMV consequences or asking us to assist you in retaining one for your home state consequences.