Sometimes Connecticut residents travel to other states, like Colorado, for business or pleasure and have the unfortunate luck to be charged with a DUI. If this happens to you, you should first find a qualified DUI lawyer in Colorado, but you should also be aware of how Connecticut’s DMV will treat you upon your return.
Colorado DUI Penalties
If you have been convicted of a DUI in Colorado, you would be convicted of violating section 42-4-1301(1)(a) of the Colorado statutes.
In Colorado, the penalties for DUI can range depending on the number of prior DUI offenses you have.
First offense: This conviction will result in a jail sentence of five days to one year, however, for a first offense, the jail time can be suspended. In addition, a $300-$1,000 fine must be paid, and you must complete 48-96 hours of community service.
Second offense: The penalties for this offense are a jail sentence of 70 days to one year, a fine of $450-$1,500, and 56-112 hours of community service.
Second offense with vehicular assault or vehicular homicide: This offense is punishable by a jail sentence of 90 days to one year, a fine of $500-$1,500, and 60-120 hours of community service.
If you are looking for a Colorado DUI lawyer, Ruane Attorneys recommends Attorney Jay Tiftickjian. If you have a Colorado DUI but are a Connecticut resident, please contact a Connecticut lawyer for help.