Sometimes Connecticut residents travel to other states, like Florida, for business or pleasure and have the unfortunate luck to be charged with a DUI. If this happens to you, you should first find a qualified DUI lawyer in Florida, but you should also be aware of how Connecticut’s DMV will treat you upon your return.
Florida DUI Penalties
If you have been convicted of a DUI in Florida, you would be convicted of violating section 316.193 of the Florida statutes.
In Florida, the penalties for DUI can range depending on the number of prior DUI offenses you have. We contacted Florida DUI lawyer David Haenel for help with outlining the penalties there.
First offense: This conviction carries with it a jail sentence of less than six months, a fine between $250 and $500, and a license suspension that will last six months. In addition, you will have to attend DUI school and perform 50 hours of community service, and your car will be immobilized for ten days.
Second offense: A second offense in the state of Florida will result in a jail sentence of at least 10 days and no more than nine months, a $500-$1,000 fine, and a license suspension for one to five years. In order to get your license back, you must install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for one year. In addition, you will have to go to DUI School, and you vehicle can be immobilized for 30 days.
Third offense: A third DUI conviction is considered a felony in the state of Florida. If convicted, you must serve a jail sentence of no less than 30 days and no more than five years, and you will have to pay a fine that will not exceed $5,000. Your license will also be revoked for 10 years, and in order to get it back you must install an ignition interlock device on your car for at least two years. You will also have to attend DUI school and your vehicle will be immobilized for 90 days.
Fourth/subsequent offense: A fourth conviction is also considered a felony and will result in a fine between $1,000 and $5,000, a jail sentence of 30 days to five years, and your license will be revoked for ten years. Before getting your license back, you must install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for at least two years. You must also attend DUI school and your vehicle will be immobilized for 90 days.
If you are a Connecticut resident who has been charged with or convicted of DUI in Florida, you should be aware that there are repercussions on your Connecticut license in your home state in addition to any license impact in Florida as set forth above.
After hiring a Florida DUI lawyer like the attorneys at Finebloom and Haenel or Tom Hudson to help you fight your DUI, you should consider contacting a Connecticut DUI lawyer like our firm with experience in interstate DMV consequences or asking us to assist you in retaining one for your home state consequences.