Sometimes Connecticut residents travel to other states, like Idaho, for business or pleasure and have the unfortunate luck to be charged with a DUI. If this happens to you, you should first find a qualified DUI lawyer in Idaho, but you should also be aware of how Connecticut’s DMV will treat you upon your return.
Idaho DUI Penalties
If you have been convicted of a DUI in Idaho, you would be convicted of violating section 18-8004(1)(a) of the Idaho statute.
In Idaho, the penalties for DUI can range depending on the number of prior DUI offenses you have.
First offense: The penalties for this conviction include a jail sentence that is less than six months, a fine that is less than $1,000, and a license suspension for no more than 180 days (first 30 days are absolute, afterwards you can apply for a work permit).
Second offense: A second conviction will result in a jail sentence between 10 days and one year, a fine that is not more than $2,000, a license suspension for one year with no work permits or other privileges, and participation in alcohol evaluation. Your license can only be reinstated if you install an ignition interlock device in your car.
Third offense: This is considered a felony, and it will result in a jail sentence between 30 days and 10 years, a fine that is no more than $5,000, a license suspension for 1-5 years (which can only be reinstated with participation in the ignition interlock device program), and participation in alcohol evaluation.
If you are a Connecticut resident who has been charged with or convicted of DUI in Idaho, you should be aware that there are repercussions on your Connecticut license in your home state in addition to any license impact in Idaho as set forth above.
After hiring an Idaho DUI lawyer to help you fight your DUI, you should consider contacting a Connecticut DUI lawyer like our firm with experience in interstate DMV consequences or asking us to assist you in retaining one for your home state consequences.