Sometimes Connecticut residents travel to other states, like Indiana, for business or pleasure and have the unfortunate luck to be charged with a DUI. If this happens to you, you should first find a qualified DUI lawyer in Indiana, but you should also be aware of how Connecticut’s DMV will treat you upon your return.
If you have been convicted of a DUI in Indiana, you would be convicted of violating Indiana Code 9-30-5.
Indiana DUI Penalties
In Indiana, the penalties for DUI can range depending on the number of prior DUI offenses you have.
Class C misdemeanor (BAC .08-.15): This crime is punishable by a fine of $500 or less, a jail term of 60 days, or both.
Class A misdemeanor (BAC .15 or higher): This conviction carries a jail sentence of one year or a fine of $500. In some cases, you will have to pay a fine and serve jail time.
Second offense: Considered a felony in the state of Indiana. This conviction will result in six months to three years in jail and a fine of up to $10,000.
If you are a Connecticut resident who has been charged with or convicted of DUI in Indiana, you should be aware that there are repercussions on your Connecticut license in your home state in addition to any license impact in Indiana as set forth above.
After hiring an Indiana DUI lawyer to help you fight your DUI, you should consider contacting a Connecticut DUI lawyer like our firm with experience in interstate DMV consequences or asking us to assist you in retaining one for your home state consequences.