Sometimes Connecticut residents travel to other states, like Nevada, for business or pleasure and have the unfortunate luck to be charged with a DUI. If this happens to you, you should first find a qualified DUI lawyer in Nevada, but you should also be aware of how Connecticut’s DMV will treat you upon your return.
Nevada DUI Penalties
If you have been convicted of a DUI in Nevada, you would be convicted of violating NRS 484.379.
In Nevada, the penalties for DUI can range depending on the number of prior DUI offenses you have.
First offense: The penalties for this offense include a fine of $400-$1,000, a jail sentence between two days and six months (or 48-96 hours of community service). If your BAC is higher than .179, you must attend an alcohol abuse treatment program and your license will be revoked for 90 days.
Second offense: A second offense will result in a jail sentence between 10 days and six months, a fine of $750-$1,000, participation in an alcohol/drug abuse treatment program, and a one year revocation of your license.
Third offense: The penalties for this offense include imprisonment for 1-6 years, a fine of $2,000-$5,000, and a three year long license revocation.
If you are a Connecticut resident who has been charged with or convicted of DUI in Nevada, you should be aware that there are repercussions on your Connecticut license in your home state in addition to any license impact in Nevada as set forth above.
After hiring a Nevada DUI lawyer to help you fight your DUI, you should consider contacting a Connecticut DUI lawyer like our firm with experience in interstate DMV consequences or asking us to assist you in retaining one for your home state consequences.