When you are under the age of 16 in Connecticut, one of the things you want to be doing is driving around with your friends. Most of them probably already have their licenses and are driving themselves to school and to hang out. You might think it is lame to be driven around by your parents or older siblings but if you drive without a license, you might have to keep driving with them for longer than you hoped.
If you already had a license and it got suspended, it could lead to additional consequences if you choose to drive with the suspended license. Driving with a suspended license can carry severe penalties for adults. But what are the consequences for minors who drive without a license? While the consequences are not as severe for minors, you will still be punished if you are a minor caught driving without a license.
Why You Should Not Drive Without a License
In the state of Connecticut, a youth must be at least 16 years old before he or she can apply for a learner’s permit. Once this permit is obtained, you are only allowed to drive with a parent or driving instructor in the vehicle. If you drive by yourself and you only have a learner’s permit, it is considered driving without a license.
If you drive without a valid driver’s permit, whether that is because you do not have it with you or because you do not have one at all, you will be in violation of State law. This could extend the waiting period and make it more difficult for you to obtain your driver’s license when you really want to get it.
You might have to wait until you are 18 or 21 years old in order to apply for a license in Connecticut. In addition, you could receive a fine of between $75 and $90 for a first offense. Any offense after the first offense will result in a fine of between $250 and $350. In addition, you might have to serve a jail sentence of up to 30 days.
If you do not have a license and you are a minor, do not operate a vehicle. Driving without a license could result in a fine or jail time, and it will make it more difficult for you to get your license in the future. Operating a vehicle without a license is not worth the risk.
If you have further questions, or if you are trying to fight a driving related charge, you can contact us and we will help you with the charges that you face. Our first consultation is always free, so you have nothing to lose and everything to gain by contacting us today.