If you are a minor in Connecticut, a fake ID is something that you may want to have. It could get you into bars and allow you to buy alcohol. But this is against the underage drinking laws in the state and could get you into serious trouble. You should know about all of the laws and consequences regarding fake IDs in the state of Connecticut, and they will all be laid out here.
Fraud and Forgery
Fake identification can be more than one thing. It can be using a real license that was previously someone else’s or using a forged license that has fake information on it about you such as your birthday. The Connecticut law says that if you are caught with a fake ID you could be charged with a felony. If you are caught just trying to use a fake ID it can result in a forgery charge.
There are three different degrees of forgery. A first degree forgery is the use of a forged item with intent to defraud another. (Class C felony): 10 year prison sentence and up to $10,000 fine.
A second degree forgery is possession or creating a forged document. (Class D felony): Five year prison sentence and $5,000 fine.
A third degree forgery is being in possession of forged material. (Class A misdemeanor): Up to one year jail sentence and fine of up to $2,000. Your case will depend on the seriousness of the situation that you were in when you were caught.
Using a Fake ID to Buy Alcohol
If the owner of a liquor store or someone else that was selling alcohol to you later finds out that you had used a fake ID, the consequences can be very serious. You can be fined for an amount up to $1,500 and you can spend up to 18 months in jail. The use of a fake ID is punishable by a fine of $200-$500, and a jail sentence of up to 30 days.
If you use a form of identification that belongs to another person, you can be fined between $200 and $500 and spend up to 30 days in jail. Your driver’s license can also be suspended for up to 150 days. If you are caught attempting to make or purchase a fake ID in order to buy alcohol, you will receive a $200-$500 fine and could spend up to a year in jail.
Making or buying a fake ID to buy alcohol carries serious consequences in the state of Connecticut. It should not be worth the risk to you because you could face a felony charge and time in jail. If you are a minor who is facing a forgery charge or another fake ID related charge, you should consider hiring a juvenile defense lawyer.
Juvenile defense lawyers are familiar with juvenile law and in many cases might be able to have your case dismissed or at least reduce your fines and jail time. A juvenile defense lawyer might be able to get you community service or probation as an alternative to jail time. If you have any questions you can give us a call here my office and I will help you out with your current situation.