Connecticut law sets numerous restrictions on firearm ownership, and state authorities tend to prosecute gun-related offenses harshly. When facing these types of charges, you need to understand and proactively protect your rights. Retaining legal counsel can be vital to minimizing criminal sanctions and preserving your personal and professional prospects.
A conversation with a Norwich gun lawyer is the first step in working toward a positive outcome for your case. Ruane Attorneys can explain your rights for lawful firearm sales, purchases, and possession under state law. We are also prepared to contest criminal charges related to unlawful firearm use or possession.
Prerequisite Conditions for Firearm Purchases in Norwich
To lawfully purchase a pistol, long gun, revolver, or ammunition for any firearm in Connecticut, a resident must have either a Certificate of Eligibility or a state pistol permit. A Certificate of Eligibility confers the right to purchase and own a firearm but not the right to carry on one’s person. A pistol permit gives the holder the right to carry a firearm openly or concealed on their person.
First, local authorities grant a qualified applicant a 60-day temporary permit; then, the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection, through the Connecticut State Police, issues the applicant a five-year regular permit. To apply for a gun license in Connecticut, an applicant must:
- Be 21 years old or older
- Legally reside in the United States
- Live or own a business in the local area where they are applying
- Pass a background check
- Complete a state-approved firearm safety course
- Pass a mental health check
Our local attorneys can explain and guide you through the gun permitting process.
Connecticut maintains a “shall issue” licensing system—commonly known as a presumptive right-to-carry law—which requires authorities to provide a gun license to any applicant who meets the state’s criteria. Notably, the U.S. Supreme Court’s 2022 ruling in New York State Rifle and Pistol Association v. Bruen appears to make shall-issue laws for gun permits unconstitutional. However, the Connecticut state government has indicated it will continue to grant permits on a shall-issue basis.
Dealing With Common Gun-Related Criminal Charges
Gun-related criminal charges in Connecticut are almost always classified as felonies. Possession is a Class D felony if the unlawful item in question is a sawed-off shotgun, silencer, or firearm possessed without a permit. Possession of a firearm or any ammunition or electronic defense weapon by a felon is considered an even more serious Class C felony, as is the theft of any firearm.
Additionally, possessing or using a firearm during the commission of a crime will enhance the penalties following a conviction. During a private consultation, a gun lawyer in Norwich could further explain these laws and how they might pertain to your specific case.
Speak With a Norwich Gun Attorney About Your Legal Options
Gun owners in Connecticut must be aware of the many regulations and restrictions on firearm ownership in the state. Violating these laws could put you in serious legal jeopardy, especially if you have any past criminal convictions for gun-related offenses or felonies.
Support from a Norwich gun lawyer could make a huge difference in the outcome of your case. Let Ruane Attorneys work to protect your rights, defend against weapon-related charges, and guide you through the legal proceedings. Call us today to schedule a meeting.