Allegations of theft—or “larceny,” as the Connecticut Penal Code refers to it—can carry serious legal repercussions even if you have no prior criminal record. Depending on the property allegedly stolen, you may be facing misdemeanor or felony charges; in some cases, you could even be facing multiple years in prison upon conviction.
Representation from a Norwich theft lawyer is crucial in preserving your future and protecting your rights throughout the criminal process. If you are accused of larceny, contact Ruane Attorneys to discuss your options for defense.
Handling Misdemeanor Theft Charges in Norwich
Connecticut General Statutes § 53a-119 defines larceny as intentionally depriving someone of the use of their property by wrongfully taking, obtaining, withholding, or appropriating it. The statute lists 18 distinct actions that qualify as criminal acts of theft under this definition. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53a-125 through 53a-125b consider theft of less than $2,000 worth of money, property, or services misdemeanor theft. The degree of theft charges and potential penalties upon conviction depend on the financial value of the goods allegedly taken:
- Class A misdemeanor: $1,000-$2,000
- Class B misdemeanor: $500-$1,000
- Class C misdemeanor: less than $500
While these offenses are not as severe as felony theft offenses, they can still carry steep fines and the possibility of jail time upon conviction. Representation from a local theft attorney is vital to effectively contesting charges for misdemeanor larceny.
When Does Larceny Become a Felony?
Theft of over $2,000 worth of money, property, or services is always considered a felony. Also, the theft of certain types of property, regardless of its actual financial value, can lead to felony charges.
Under Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53a-124, larceny in the third degree—a class D felony—involves the theft of between $2,000 and $10,000 of property or services, any motor vehicle valued at less than $10,000, any trade secret, or any public record or instrument (an authenticated legal document such as a will, deed, contract, or promissory note).
Larceny in the second degree, defined by Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53a-123 as a Class C felony, occurs when someone unlawfully takes any of the following:
- Between $10,000 and $20,000 of property or services
- Any motor vehicle valued at over $10,000
- Public community property with a value of $2,000 or less, if it was obtained through fraud
- Any property of any value taken directly from the owner’s person
- Any telecommunications property, if the theft directly results in an interruption of emergency communication services
- Any property obtained through embezzlement or fraud, if the owner is 60 or older, physically disabled, or under guardianship or conservatorship
As the theft lawyers at our Norwich office can explain, a separate statute also defines theft of any firearm as a Class C felony.
Under Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53a-122, larceny in the first degree— a class B felony—involves taking more than $20,000 of property or services by any means, taking more than $2,000 of public community property through fraud, or taking any amount of property or services through extortion.
Regardless of the specific degree of the charges, anyone accused of larceny should consult a Norwich lawyer as soon as possible.
Get in Touch With a Norwich Theft Attorney
Dealing with larceny charges is complex, and there is no one-size-fits-all legal strategy for these cases. Small mistakes while constructing your defense can have significant consequences for you and your future.
Fortunately, assistance is available from a Norwich theft lawyer at Ruane Attorneys. Our legal team could work tirelessly to get the best possible result on your behalf. Learn more by giving us a call today.