Being accused of assaulting someone else can upend your life and lead to severe criminal consequences. Regardless of your criminal history, you need to be proactive in contesting the allegations. This is crucial to preserving your reputation and avoiding potential jail time.
Guidance from a Waterbury assault lawyer can make a huge difference in the outcome of your case. From beginning to end of your legal proceedings, a lawyer at Ruane Attorneys will ensure you understand your rights and explain your legal options for challenging the case against you. Together, we can work to contest the charges and minimize the impact on your life.
Misdemeanor Versus Felony Assault in Waterbury
The Connecticut Penal Code categorizes assault charges by three degrees based on the circumstances and resulting injuries.
The most straightforward version of assault codified under state law is assault in the third degree; Connecticut General Statutes §53a-61 defines this as intentionally causing physical injury to someone else, recklessly causing serious physical injury to someone else, or causing physical injury to someone else through criminally negligent use of an electronic defense weapon, deadly weapon, or dangerous instrument.
As per C.G.S. §53a-60, second-degree assault generally involves intentionally causing severe physical injury to someone else. However, numerous other circumstances could lead to this type of charge. These could include recklessly causing serious injury using a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument or intentionally causing physical injury by striking or kicking someone in the head while they are lying down.
First-degree assault has several definitions under C.G.S. §53a-59, the most basic of which is causing serious physical injury intentionally and using a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument. Intentionally disfiguring or disabling someone else, causing serious physical injury through reckless disregard for human life, and causing serious physical injury with aid from two or more other people present also constitute assault in the first degree. Our local attorneys can further explain the different degrees and potential penalties of assault charges.
Potential Consequences of an Assault Conviction
Third-degree assault is a Class A misdemeanor; a defendant may face up to a year in jail and a $2,000 fine upon conviction. Second-degree assault can be either a Class D or class C felony, depending on if the targeted individual suffered serious physical injury. A Class D felony conviction could carry a maximum five-year prison term and a $5,000 fine, while a Class C felony could lead to up to 10 years and a $10,000 fine. Assault in the first degree is a Class B felony, meaning a defendant faces up to 20 years in prison and a $15,000 fine.
The presence of certain aggravating factors, such as the use of a firearm or motor vehicle to commit the assault, may result in increased sanctions upon conviction. As our Waterbury lawyers could explain, assault of a blind, disabled, elderly, or pregnant person is prosecuted more harshly. Assault of a pregnant person resulting directly in the termination of their pregnancy and the loss of the fetus is one of few offenses in Connecticut categorized as a Class A felony.
Work with a Waterbury Assault Attorney on Your Defense
Defending a criminal assault charge can be complex, requiring legal knowledge and experience. Trying to handle a case like this on your own will likely lead to an unsatisfactory outcome.
Work with a Waterbury assault lawyer to improve your chances of achieving a positive resolution to your case. Contact Ruane Attorneys today to discuss your situation and get the representation you need.