The state of Connecticut takes driving under the influence (DUI) very seriously. Connecticut has some of the most severe punishments of all states for DUI offenses. Also, judges and prosecutors alike consider this a severe crime. However, despite the oftentimes harsh penalties, the state of Connecticut also recognizes that many times jail sentences and fines are not the best way to treat driving under the influence and related offenses. For this reason, Connecticut established the Alcohol Education Program (AEP). First time offenders can use this program.
The purpose of this program is to help those with substance abuse issues face these issues head on. This happens as opposed to throwing useless punishments at these offenders. On this section of our website, you can learn more about eligibility requirements for the program. Here, let’s talk about the basics of the alcohol education program.
The AEP is an alternative to conviction for first time DUI offenders. Offenders who attend the AEP, a series of alcohol education classes, will have their DUI cases dismissed and no convictions will go on their records. Many of our clients are one-time DUI offenders who will never have a run-in with the law again. If this is your situation, you should strongly consider the AEP, as completing this program guarantees that you will not be convicted of a DUI.
Types of AEP
There are two forms of the AEP – one that runs for 10 weeks, and another that runs for 15 weeks. To determine which course you should take, you will be evaluated by a program evaluator. They will establish which course is right for you and your personal situation. You might be concerned that 10-15 weeks is a lot of time to spend on alcohol education classes, but the class only meets once a week for an hour and a half. The time commitment can be a hassle, but it is really not that bad.
However, it is important to keep in mind that just because you are admitted to the AEP does not mean that you will automatically complete the AEP. If you don’t cooperate with the program, if you miss several classes, or if your instructor feels that you are not invested in the program, you will not complete the program. This means that your DUI case could get sent back to court, and you could still be convicted of a DUI. This is why it is very important to cooperate with the program and make sure that you attend all classes, barring serious emergencies.
To join the AEP, you will have to pay between $500-750. Classes are held in Connecticut at the following locations:
- New Haven.
- New Britain.
- East Hartford.
The Alcohol Education Program is a good option for first time offenders to ensure that one mistake does not result in a criminal conviction. To discuss your eligibility for the AEP and the application process, contact an attorney. In addition, be sure to check back next week for more information.