How are felonies and misdemeanors prosecuted in the state of Connecticut? Find out on this page.
This crime chart explains various crimes in Connecticut, the sentence for each crime, and potential fines that you could face.
| ||Sentence ||Fines |
|Capital Felony ||Execution, or life in prison ||N/A |
|Class A Felony (Murder) |
|Class A Felony ||10 to 25 years in prison ||Up to $20,000 |
|Class B Felony ||1 to 20 years in prison ||Up to $15,000 |
|Class C Felony ||1 to 10 years in prison ||Up to $10,000 |
|Class D Felony ||1 to 5 years in prison ||Up to $5,000 |
Under Connecticut law, misdemeanor charges are less serious than felonies, and have a maximum penalty of one year in jail.
|Class A Misdemeanor ||Up to one year in jail ||Up to $2,000 |
|Class B Misdemeanor ||Up to six months in jail ||Up to $1,000 |
|Class C Misdemeanor ||Up to three months in jail ||Up to $500 |
If charged with one of the above mentioned crimes, you should seek the help of a lawyer. Do this as soon as possible. A criminal defense lawyer can help build a defense for you so that you can avoid the maximum punishments that you face. Discuss your situation with a Connecticut attorney.