Aggravated sexual assault of a minor is a crime in Connecticut. If you face this charge, it is important to understand what you are up against. Understanding the crime, the penalties, as well as some lasting consequences that you might face can help you make it through this process. You can learn more about aggravated sexual assault of a minor here.
What is This Crime?
Aggravated sexual assault of a minor is governed by Connecticut General Statutes § 53a-70c. A person commits this crime when the victim is under the age of thirteen and the person also commits the crime of either:
(1) Subsection (a)(2) of Risk of Injury to a Minor.
(2) Sexual Assault in the First Degree.
(3) Aggravated Sexual Assault in the First Degree.
(4) Sexual Assault in the Second Degree.
(5) Promoting Prostitution in the First Degree.
(6) Promoting Prostitution in the Second Degree.
(7) Employing a Minor in an Obscene Performance.
AND the person does one of the following:
(1) Kidnaps or illegally restrains the victim.
(2) Stalks the victim.
(3) Uses violence to commit the offense against the victim.
(4) Causes serious physical injury or disfigurement to the victim.
(5) There was more than one victim under the age of thirteen years old subjected to this crime.
(6) The victim did not know the person.
(7) The person had previously been convicted of a violent sexual assault.
If you are fit into one of these categories, you could face a charge of aggravated sexual assault of a minor. If you have been charged but you do not fit this definition, you can use this as a defense against the charge.
Penalties for Aggravated Sexual Assault of a Minor
Aggravated sexual assault of a minor is classified as a Class A felony. The penalty for this crime as a first offense is a minimum prison sentence of 25 years, which may not be suspended or reduced. If a person is found to be convicted of this crime for a second time, the minimum imprisonment for the second offense is 50 years. The fine for such an offense will be no more than $25,000. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53a-41 (2019).
If a person is convicted of aggravated sexual assault of a minor and the victim at the time of the crime was ten years old or younger, the court will order that the defendant be sentenced to undergo psychological counseling. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53a-40c (2019).
In addition, keep in mind that after a person has been convicted of this charge and they are released into the general public, they have to register as a sex offender for life. Conn. Gen. Stat. § § 54-251, 54-252.
If you have been charged with such a crime or have suspicions that you might be charged with this crime, you can get help by contacting an attorney. An attorney can help you determine the best defense for your situation and support you throughout the criminal justice process.