No matter the circumstances, any encounter that leads to someone being charged with criminal assault is a serious matter. Even a conviction for misdemeanor assault could lead to steep fines, jail time, and long-lasting damage to your personal and professional reputation, and a more serious assault charge could result in prison time and a permanent record as a felony offender.
Representation from a defense attorney can make all the difference in your ability to contest the charges and protect your future. With a Danbury assault lawyer by your side, you have a better chance of securing a favorable case outcome. When your reputation, rights, and freedom are on the line, trust the legal team at Ruane Attorneys to defend you.
Misdemeanor Assault Charges in Danbury
Most of the time, criminal assault is considered a felony offense in the state of Connecticut. This means a conviction would be punishable by prison time instead of incarceration in local or county jail, and the maximum sentence a court could impose would be greater than one year. However, the most basic variant of this offense—assault in the third degree—is a Class A misdemeanor, with maximum sanctions of one year in jail and a $2,000 fine upon conviction.
As per Connecticut General Statute §53a-61, someone commits third-degree assault if they recklessly cause serious physical injury to someone else. These charges may also result from causing physical injury to another person by intent or criminally negligent use of a deadly weapon, electronic defense weapon, or dangerous instrument. As our local attorneys could further explain, anyone who commits third-degree assault against an elderly person, a disabled person, or someone they know to be pregnant is subject to a mandatory minimum one-year jail term upon conviction, according to C.G.S. §53a-61a.
When Does Assault Become a Felony Offense?
C.G.S. §53a-60 defines specific actions that constitute second-degree assault. Generally, this offense entails intentionally causing serious physical injury to someone else or causing physical injury under unique circumstances—for example, by administering an intoxicating drug to another person without their consent or knowledge. This offense can be prosecuted as a Class C or Class D felony, depending on whether the defendant’s actions resulted in serious physical injury.
First-degree assault also has numerous definitions under C.G.S. §53a-59. Still, the most common variant of this offense is someone intentionally causing serious physical injury using a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument. This is a Class B felony punishable by between one and 20 years of imprisonment and a $15,000 fine. Aggravating factors, such as an elderly or pregnant victim, can result in enhanced penalties upon conviction, including mandatory minimum prison terms. Those facing felony assault charges need representation from a Danbury lawyer to prevent severe consequences.
Work with a Danbury Assault Attorney on Your Defense
Courts have substantial leeway when approaching assault cases based on each defendant’s circumstances and actions. This is one reason why these charges can be so challenging to effectively contest, especially without legal counsel.
To improve your chances of a favorable outcome from your case, working with a Danbury assault lawyer is essential. Call Ruane Attorneys today to get started on your defense strategy and take the first step toward protecting your prospects.