The state of Connecticut heavily regulates firearms, including what types you can own and how they can be acquired, stored, and transported. Penalties for violating state gun crime laws can be severe.
An attorney is a valuable ally and resource when you are charged with a gun crime. A Milford gun lawyer at Ruane Attorneys can build your defense, fight for you in court, and advocate for your rights to improve your chances of a positive outcome.
Connecticut Gun Laws and Restrictions
Connecticut gun laws impose guidelines and restrictions for possessing, selling, and using firearms. Some laws depend on the type of gun, as detailed in the Connecticut Legislative Research Report 2020-R-0025:
- Handguns, which include pistols and revolvers
- Long guns, which include rifles and shotguns
- Assault weapons, which include weapons that can be set to fire automatically or semi-automatically
- Machine guns, which include weapons that can automatically shoot multiple rounds with one trigger pull
Handguns have the fewest restrictions, though they are still heavily regulated in the state. Per C.G.A. 529 § 29(28), people who wish to buy, sell, own, or carry a handgun must have an applicable permit. Acquiring a permit to carry requires completing a handgun safety course, submitting an application, completing a background check, and paying a fee.
State law C.G.A. 952 § 53a(217c) prevents certain people from buying, selling, or possessing guns in Connecticut. This includes people previously convicted of a felony or violent misdemeanor, people under restraining orders, and people recently confined to a mental health facility for treatment. Our lawyers in Milford can further explain the local gun regulations and help deal with violation allegations.
Types of Firearm Offenses in Milford
Some gun crimes in Connecticut relate to possessing certain weapons and accessories. Statute C.G.A. 952 § 53a(211) makes it a Class D felony to possess a sawed-off shotgun with a barrel less than 18 inches long. Possessing any type of silencer or bump stock is also a Class D felony. Class D felonies in Connecticut are punishable by up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
Importing, Selling, or Distributing Weapons
Under C.G.A. 943 § 53(202b), importing, selling, or distributing assault weapons is a Class C felony, with penalties of one to ten years in prison and a $10,000 fine. If the assault weapon in question was given to a person under 18 years old, the court mandates an additional six years to be served on top of the original sentence.
Gun Use as an Aggravating Factor
Other gun crimes focus on gun use with another underlying crime. For example, C.G.A. 943 § 53(202) says that a person who uses a machine gun to commit or attempt a violent crime can face 10 to 20 years in prison.
Gun use can be an aggravating factor in sentencing for the underlying crime. First-degree manslaughter is a Class B felony, which could result in a one- to 20-year prison sentence. When the allegations involve gun use, five years of the sentence cannot be reduced or suspended, per C.G.A. 952 § 53a(55a). Third-degree sexual assault is charged as either a Class D or Class C felony; if firearms were involved, C.G.A. 952 § 53a(72b) upgrades the charges to a Class C or Class B felony.
The stakes are high when facing these gun charges, making it crucial to seek representation from a Milford lawyer.
Consult a Milford Gun Attorney on Your Case
Gun convictions in Connecticut have long-lasting consequences that can disrupt your life and limit your freedom. One of the most effective ways to fight against these charges is to work with a Milford gun lawyer on your defense.
Ruane Attorneys can tailor a strategy to your circumstances and work to protect your best interests. Contact us today to schedule a consultation and get started on your case.