If the government revokes or suspends your license or refuses to give you one, it is illegal to drive a vehicle. The penalties for driving without a license range from fines to community service to jail time. Although you may fight the charges in court on your own, it is best to hire an attorney to represent you.
Ruane Attorneys can discuss legal options with those accused of driving without a license in New Haven. We can walk you through the legal process, explain your rights, and help determine an effective defense strategy.
What Are the Penalties for Driving Without a License?
Connecticut General Statute §14-215 outlines the consequences of driving without a valid license. A first-time offense may lead to fines of up to $200 or a jail sentence of up to three months. A second offense can lead to a maximum of $1,000 in fines and a year in jail. Additionally, the court may require the person to do up to 100 hours of community service.
If the defendant has at least two charges for driving without a license on their record, the court may upgrade the offense to a felony. Felony traffic violations may carry even higher fines and jail sentences.
Connecticut law enforcement takes these charges seriously. Our New Haven lawyers can advocate for those accused of driving without a license to prevent severe penalties.
Fighting Charges for Driving Without a License in New Haven
A local attorney at our firm can help someone fight a driving without a license charge by researching the law and looking at the state’s case against the defendant. We can ensure the police followed the correct procedures when they pulled the person over. If we find inconsistencies, we can use this to undermine the government’s case and potentially have the charges thrown out.
The lawyers at our New Haven office can also negotiate with the government to get a lower sentence for the driving without a license charge. We might prepare a defense to showcase the defendant’s positive qualities, such as a clean driving record or contributions to the community. The judge may use this information to impose a lighter sentence or a lower fine than they would otherwise.
With help from Ruane Attorneys, it is possible to achieve a positive case resolution after allegations of driving without a license. Our lawyers research every possible angle to achieve favorable outcomes and allow accused people to move forward with their lives.
Call a New Haven Lawyer for Help with a Driving Without a License Charge
Getting pulled over for driving without a license can be stressful, but you have the right to defend yourself against these charges. Legal counsel can work to find evidence and build compelling arguments that prove you are innocent. Alternatively, an attorney could persuade the judge to lower the sentence.
If you are charged with driving without a license in New Haven, Ruane Attorneys can help. We are here to listen to your story, review the circumstances of your case, and tailor a strong defense to the situation. Contact our law firm today to schedule a consultation and learn how we can represent your best interests.