If you get a Wisconsin DUI conviction, you would be convicted of violating section 346.63 of the Wisconsin statutes.
Wisconsin DUI Penalties
In Wisconsin, the penalties for DUI can range depending on the number of prior DUI offenses you have.
First offense: If you receive a first offense conviction in the state of Wisconsin for a DUI, you will have to pay a fine of $700 and your license will be revoked for six months.
Second offense: A second conviction carries a fine of $300-$1,000 with a surcharge of $250, a jail sentence of no less than five days and no more than six months, and a license revocation for 12-18 months.
Third offense: A third conviction will result in a fine of $600-$2,000, as well as a $250 surcharge, a jail sentence of no less than 30 days and no more than one year, and a license revocation for 24-36 months.
If you are a Connecticut resident who has been charged with or convicted of DUI in Wisconsin, you should be aware that there are repercussions on your Connecticut license in your home state in addition to any license impact in Wisconsin as set forth above. Reach out to a lawyer at our firm today to learn more.